THE THIRTEENTH ASEAN AND CHINA TRANSPORT MINISTERS MEETING (13th ATM+CHINA) 28 November 2014, Mandalay, Myanmar

JOINT MINISTERIAL STATEMENT

1. The Thirteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting (ATM+China) was held on 28 November2014 in Mandalay, Myanmar. The Meeting was co-chaired by H.E.Mr.Nyan Htun Aung, Union Minister for Transport of Myanmar and H.E. Mr. Yang Chuantang, Minister of Transport of the People's Republic of China. The Meeting was preceded by the Thirteenth ASEAN and China Senior Transport Officials Meeting (13th STOM+China) held on 26 November 2014.

2. The Ministers welcomed the progress under ASEAN-China Maritime Consultation Mechanism (ACMCM), particularly on the implementation of 2006 Maritime Labour Convention and ballast water management, through constructive exchange of information, technical cooperation and capacity building. The Ministers encouraged the senior officials to continue conductingmaritime training to further strengthen maritime sector in both ASEAN and China.

3. The Ministers commended the progress made in the implementation of ASEAN-China Air Transport Agreement (ACATA) and its Protocol 1 and tasked the senior officials to expedite the ratification and implementation of ACATA Protocol 2 on the Fifth Freedom Traffic Rights which would further liberalise air services regime between ASEAN and China, and looked forward to continued engagement between ASEAN and China in the area of aviation cooperation, and eventually putting in place a liberal and substantial air services framework in support of the upgrading of the ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement.

4. The Ministers noted the progress made in the construction and rehabilitation works of the Singapore–Kunming Rail Link (SKRL) and urged senior officials to expedite the completion of SKRL to promote trans-border rail connectivity between ASEAN and China.

5. The Ministers welcomed China's recent announcement of financial resources in support of ASEAN connectivity, including maritime connectivity.

The Ministers also noted China's proposal and initiatives under the 2+7 Cooperation Framework, including the Maritime Silk Road.

6. The Ministers also noted that several projects/activities are being earmarked for implementation in 2015, including the following.

- (a) ASEAN-China Joint Maritime Search and Rescue Table and Operational Exercises;
- (b) ASEAN-China Maritime Emergency and Rescue Assistance Hotline;
- (c) Feasibility Study for Further Improvement of the Navigation Channel of Lancang-Mekong River;
- (d) ASEAN-China Maritime Training and Education Development Strategy;
- (e) Capacity Building of Aids to Navigation;
- (f) Capacity Building of Oil Spill Monitoring in The Straits of Malacca and Singapore;
- (g) ASEAN-China Port Cities Cooperation Network;
- (h) ASEAN-China Workshop on Civil Aviation Safety Capacity Building;
- (i) The Conduct of a package of ASEAN-China Maritime Transport Studies;
- (j) EighthASEAN-China Working Group Meeting on Regional Air Services Arrangements;
- (k) EleventhMeeting of ASEAN-China Maritime Consultation Mechanism; and
- (I) Scholarship for Master Programme in Dalian Maritime University.

7. The Fourteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting will be held in Malaysia in 2015.

LIST OF MINISTERS

- (a) H.E. Pehin Dato Abdullah Bakar, Minister of Communications of Brunei Darussalam;
- (b) H.E. Mr.Tram Iv Tek, Minister of Public Works and Transport of Cambodia;
- (c) H.E. Mr. Yang Chuantang, Minister of Transport of the People's Republic of China;
- (d) H.E. Mr.Ignasius Jonan, Minister for Transportation of Indonesia;
- (e) H.E. Mr. BounchanhSinthavong, Minister of Public Works and Transport of Lao PDR;
- (f) H.E. Dato' Sri LiowTiong Lai, Minister of Transport of Malaysia;
- (g) H.E. Mr.NyanHtun Aung, Union Minister for Transport of Myanmar;
- (h) H.E. Mr. Joseph Emilio Aguinaldo Abaya, Secretary of Transportation and Communications of the Philippines;
- (i) H.E. Mr.Lui Tuck Yew, Minister for Transport of Singapore;
- (j) H.E. ACM PrajinJuntong, Minister of Transport of Thailand;
- (k) H.E. Mr.Dinh La Thang, Minister of Transport of Viet Nam; and
- (I) H.E. Mr. Lim Hong Hin, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community.