

MEDIA ADVISORY 7 July 2012

Event : Meeting of the SEAWFZ Commission

When : Friday, 8 July 2012

Where : 3rd Floor, Peace Palace, Phnom Penh

Several legal instruments relating to the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone (SEANFWZ) Treaty that are expected to be signed during the 45th AMM/PMC/19TH ARF/2ND EAS FMM would be considered by the Meeting of the SEANWFZ Commission to be held in Phnom Penh on Sunday, 8 July, 2012.

The Foreign Ministers of ASEAN Member States attending the Commission are expected to give the go-ahead for three main legal instruments to be signed.

The first instrument is the Statement on the Protocol to the Treaty on Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone (SEANWFZ). Through this Statement, the States Parties to the Treaty welcome the agreement of the five Nuclear Weapon States – China, the French Republic, the Russian Federation, the UK and the US - to sign the Protocol to the SEANWFZ Treaty. The Statement will be signed by the ASEAN Foreign Ministers on 9 July. A day later, on 10 July, the Foreign Ministers of ASEAN and the Foreign Minister of China will sign the MOU Between the State Parties to the Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone and China on the Treaty and Its Protocol. The MOU will clarify the understanding among the States Parties, i.e. ASEAN Member States and China, on the application of the Treaty and the Protocol. And finally, on 12 July, the five NWS will sign the Protocol to the SEANWFZ Treaty. The Protocol is a legal instrument for the five Nuclear Weapon States to respect and recognize the goal and objective of the 1995 SEANWFZ Treaty. The signing of the Protocol to the SEANWFZ Treaty is a testament to their support and recognition of the Treaty.

The SEANWFZ Commission would also consider the progress on the Implementation of the Plan of Action to Strengthen the Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone (2007-2012).
