THE FOURTEENTH ASEAN AND CHINA TRANSPORT MINISTERS MEETING (14th ATM+CHINA) 5 November 2015, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

JOINT MINISTERIAL STATEMENT

1. The Fourteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting (14th ATM+China) was held on 5 November 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The Meeting was co-chaired by H.E. Dato' Sri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister of Transport of Malaysia and H.E. Mr. Yang Chuantang, Minister of Transport of the People's Republic of China. The Meeting was preceded by the Fourteenth ASEAN and China Senior Transport Officials Meeting (14th ATM+China) held on 3 November 2015.

2. The Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to enhance transport connectivity between and among ASEAN Member States and China and urged the senior officials to continue their effort to move forward the priority areas and major projects/activities in railway, highway, civil aviation and waterway transport cooperation in order to facilitate regional trade and investment flows.

3. The Ministers adopted the ASEAN-China Maritime Training and Education Development Strategy which aims to enhance the capacity of maritime training and education in ASEAN Member States and China, particularly in the areas of maritime management and seafarers education, training and development. The Ministers also acknowledged the importance of this initiative towards improving the quality of human resources for the development of regional and global shipping industry.

4. The Ministers welcomed the entry into force of Protocol 2 of the ASEAN-China Air Transport Agreement, tasked and encouraged senior officials and relevant working groups to make more active and intensive engagement between ASEAN and China in the area of aviation cooperation, and eventually put in place a liberal and substantial air services framework in support of the upgrading of the ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement.

5. The Ministers welcomed the progress made in the implementation of Singapore-Kunming Rail Link (SKRL) project, particularly the completion of construction of missing link section from Aranyaprathet to Klongluk by Thailand which include the railway bridge connection between Cambodia and Thailand. The Ministers also look forward to the completion of missing link section from Poipet to Sisophon in Cambodia by end 2016.

6. The Ministers also welcomed the progress made in several projects/activities including ASEAN-China Joint Maritime Search and Rescue Table and Operational Exercises; ASEAN-China Maritime Emergency and Rescue Assistance Hotline; Feasibility Study for Further Improvement of the Navigational Channel of Lancang-Mekong River; Capacity Building of Aids to Navigation; Capacity of Oil Spill Monitoring in

the Straits of Malacca and Singapore; ASEAN-China Port Cities Cooperation Network; and ASEAN-China Workshop on Civil Aviation Safety Capacity Building.

7. The Ministers welcomed new initiatives in ASEAN-China transport cooperation including coordinating, where appropriate, between China's "Belt and Road" initiative and ASEAN Transport Strategic Plan 2016-2025, enhancing ASEAN-China cooperation in transport technology, facilitating ASEAN-China logistics information cooperation, promoting ASEAN-China cooperation in maritime training and education, and elevating the level of waterborne safety in this region.

8. The Fifteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting will be held in the Philippines in 2016.

LIST OF MINISTERS (To Be Confirmed by ASEAN Member States & China)

- (a) H.E. Dato Mustappa Sirat, Minister of Communications of Brunei Darussalam;
- (b) H.E. Mr. Tram Iv Tek, Minister of Public Works and Transport of Cambodia;
- (c) H.E. Mr. Yang Chuantang, Minister of Transport of China;
- (d) Mr. Sugihardjo, Secretary General, representing H.E. Ignasius Jonan, Minister for Transportation of Indonesia;
- (e) H.E. Mr. Bounchanh Sinthavong, Minister of Public Works and Transport of Lao PDR;
- (f) H.E. Dato' Sri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister of Transport of Malaysia;
- (g) H.E. Mr. Han Sein, Deputy Minister for the Ministry of Transport of Myanmar;
- (h) H.E. Mr. Joseph Emilio Aguinaldo Abaya, Secretary of Transportation and Communications of the Philippines;
- (i) H.E. Mr. Khaw Boon Wan, Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Transport of Singapore;
- (j) H.E. Mr. Arkhom Termpittayapaisith, Minister of Transport of Thailand;
- (k) H.E. Mr. Dinh La Thang, Minister of Transport of Viet Nam; and
- (I) H.E. Mr. Lim Hong Hin, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community.