THE EIGHTH MINISTERIAL MEETING OF THE ASEAN-MEKONG BASIN DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION (AMBDC)

26 August 2006, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Joint Media Statement

1. The Eighth Ministerial Meeting on the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on 26 August 2006. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. U Soe Tha, Minister for National Planning and Economic Development, Myanmar. The Meeting was attended by representatives from ASEAN Member Countries and PR China. Representatives from Japan, Republic of Korea and Asian Development Bank (ADB) also attended the Meeting as observers.

2. The Ministers took note of the progress made in the implementation of projects. As at 10 August 2006, there are 47 projects, at various stages of implementation. 15 projects still require funding worth US\$44 million.

3. The Meeting also noted on the progress of the activities under the Working Group on the Singapore-Kunming Rail Link (SKRL). The Meeting noted that the 8th Special Working Group Meeting on SKRL will be held in November 2006 in Kunming, China. As for the SKRL project, about US\$ 5.4 million has been secured as grants and another US\$ 40 million for Cambodia in the form of soft loans by ADB in 2006.

4. The Meeting exchanged views on enhancing the effectiveness of the AMDBC Framework and agreed to recommend to the 12th ASEAN Summit in December 2006 in Cebu, Philippines:

- to place the AMBDC Ministerial Meeting under the ASEAN Economic Ministers Meeting process; and

- that the Membership of the core group be opened to other interested parties and international organizations.

5. The decision to place AMBDC under the ASEAN Economic Ministers process is to synchronize the economic integration activities, and to maximize on the limited resources available.

1. H.E. U Soe Tha Minister for National Planning and Economic Development, Myanmar (Chairman)

2. H.E. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Brunei Darussalam 3. H.E. Cham Prasidh Senior Minister and Minister of Commerce Cambodia

4. H.E. Du Ying Vice Minister of National Development and Reform Commission PR China

5. Mr. Herry Soetanto Director General, Ministry of Trade Indonesia

6. H.E. Dr. Nam Viyaketh Minister of Industry and Commerce Lao PDR

7. H.E. Dato' Seri Rafidah Aziz Minister of International Trade and Industry Malaysia

8. H.E. Elmer C. Hernandez Undersecretary of Trade and Industry Philippines

9. Mr. David Chin Director General, Ministry of Trade and Industry Singapore

10. H.E. Phornsake Karnchanachari Vice Minister to Foreign Affairs Thailand

 H.E. Nguyen Bich Dat Vice Minister of Planning and Investment Vietnam

12. H.E. Ong Keng Yong Secretary-General of ASEAN