## Joint Media Statements of the 13th AMBDC Ministerial Meeting

Manado, Indonesia, 12 August 2011

- 1. The 13th Ministerial Meeting on the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) was held in Manado, Indonesia on 12 August 2011. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Dr. Mari Elka Pangestu, Minister of Trade, Indonesia. The Meeting was attended by delegates from the ASEAN Member States and the People's Republic of China.
- 2. The Ministers took note of the progress made in the implementation of AMBDC projects. As of 29 July 2011, there are 51 projects at various stages of implementation. A total of 14 projects still require funding worth US\$272.5 million.
- 3. The Ministers also noted the progress of activities from the various countries on the Singapore-Kunming Rail Link (SKRL) Project and continued to place the project as priority. The 13th Special Working Group on the SKRL will be held later this year to further discuss construction on the missing links and the mobilisation of resources to complete the various projects.
- 4. The Ministers shared the views that the activities under the SKRL shall be synergized with those of the Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity to further contribute to the efforts towards realising the ASEAN Community of continued economic growth, reduced development gap and improved connectivity among Member States and between Member States and the rest of the world.
- 5. In view that the SKRL is one of the many key actions under the Master Plan, the Ministers urged strengthening of coordination between the Special Working Group on the SKRL with the ASEAN Connectivity Coordinating Committee (ACCC).
- 6. The Meeting agreed that the 14th AMBDC Ministerial Meeting will be held in Cambodia in 2012.
- 7. The Ministers thanked the Government and people of Indonesia for hosting the 13th Ministerial Meeting on the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation.

## List of Ministers

- 1. H.E. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng, Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam
- 2. H.E. Cham Prasidh, Senior Minister and Minister of Commerce, Cambodia
- 3. H.E. Li Pumin, Deputy Secretary-General, National Development and Reform Commission, the People's Republic of China (representing H.E. Du Ying, Vice Chairman, National Development and Reform Commission, the People's Republic of China)
- 4. H.E. Dr. Mari Elka Pangestu, Minister of Trade, Indonesia
- 5. H.E. Nam Viyaketh, Minister of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR
- 6. H.E. Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia
- 7. H.E. U Tin Naing Thein, Minister for National Planning and Economic Development, Myanmar

- 8. H.E. Gregory L. Domingo, Secretary of Trade and Industry, the Philippines
- 9. H.E. Lim Hng Kiang, Minister for Trade and Industry, Singapore
- 10. Mr. Yangyong Phuangrach, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Commerce, Thailand
- 11. H.E. Nguyen Cam Tu, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam
- 12. H.E. Surin Pitsuwan, Secretary-General of ASEAN