Joint Media Statement of the 11th Ministerial Meeting of the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) Bangkok, 16 August 2009

1. The 11th Ministerial Meeting on the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) was held in Bangkok, Thailand, on 16 August 2009. The Meeting was chaired by the Minister of Commerce, Thailand. The Meeting was attended by delegates from the ASEAN Member States and the People's Republic of China.

2. The Ministers took note of the progress made in the implementation of AMBDC projects. As of 9 July 2009, there are 46 projects at various stages of implementation. A total of 14 projects still require funding worth US\$44.5 million. Noting the number of projects that have not been implemented due to lack of funds, the Ministers agreed to further look into how to better address the issue of funding and resource mobilisation.

3. The Ministers recognised the importance of the involvement of countries, particularly the CLMV countries, at every stage in the conceptualisation and formulation of projects to ensure that activities are tailored to their specific needs and serve the objectives of the ASEAN Economic Community.

4. The Ministers continued to place priority on AMBDC's flagship project, the Singapore-Kunming Rail Link (SKRL), and noted its progress of activities.

5. The Ministers also noted the Study to Realign the AMBDC Process with the ASEAN Economic Community and agreed in principle to give priority to three (3) areas of development cooperation under the new AMBDC framework: i) Trade and Investment; ii) Human Resource Development; and iii) Transport Infrastructure since these areas are the most crucial in supporting the ASEAN Economic Community objectives. Moreover, in order to better synchronise the economic integration activities under the ASEAN Economic Community, the Ministers agreed to maintain the meeting of AMBDC at the ministerial level.

List of Ministers

1. Dato Lim Jock Hoi, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam (representing H.E. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng, Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam)

2. H.E. Cham Prasidh, Senior Minister and Minister of Commerce, Cambodia

3. H.E. Du Ying, Vice Minister, National Development and Reform Commission, PR

China

4. Mr. Gusmardi Bustami, Director General of International Trade Cooperation, Ministry of Trade, Indonesia (representing H.E. Mari Elka Pangestu, Minister of Trade, Indonesia)

5. H.E. Nam Viyaketh, Minister of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR

6. Datuk Rebecca Fatima Sta. Maria, Deputy Secretary General of Trade, Ministry of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia (representing H.E. Dato' Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia)

7. H.E. U Soe Tha, Minister for National Planning and Economic Development, Myanmar

8. Mr. Ramon Kabiting, Assistant Secretary of Trade and Industry, the Philippines (representing H.E. Peter B. Favila, Secretary of Trade and Industry, the Philippines)

9. Ms. Sulaimah Mahmood, Director, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Singapore (representing H.E. Lim Hng Kiang, Minister for Trade and Industry, Singapore)

10. H.E. Porntiva Nakasai, Minister of Commerce, Thailand

11. H.E. Nguyen Cam Tu, Vice Minister of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam

12. H.E. Surin Pitsuwan, Secretary-General of ASEAN