## ASEAN Declaration On Specific Animal Disease Free Zone Jakarta, 13 August 1981

**WE**, the undersigned, attending the Third Meeting of the ASEAN Economic Minister on Agriculture and Forestry in Jakarta, Indonesia, on 12-14 August 1981 upon the invitation of His Excellency, Soedarsono Hadisapoetro, Minister of Agriculture of the Republic of Indonesia;

**RECALLING** the Declaration of ASEAN Concord signed in Bali, Indonesia, on 24 February 1976, which provides that ASEAN member countries shall take cooperative action in their national and regional development programmes;

**REALIZING** that animal diseases do not recognize country boundaries and therefore more effective cooperation is necessary among member countries in controlling animal diseases;

**REAFFIRMING**the principles guiding ASEAN cooperation in the field of food and agriculture to promote a strong, peaceful and resilient ASEAN community;

**CONSCIOUS** of the need to establish zones free from major animal diseases within the ASEAN region to facilitate the movement of livestock and to promote trade of animals and their related products;

**NOTING** the *Manila Consensus* arising from the First Meeting of ASEAN Agriculture Ministers in Manila in August 1979;

**NOTING** further that the ASEAN COFAF Animal Protection Programme Group has identified the sustained absence of certain animal diseases in the ASEAN region;

**I DO HEREBY DECLARE** the following: that all the ASEAN Member Countries are free from Rinderpest, Contagious Bovine Pleuropneumonia, African Swine Fever and African Horse Sickness.

**DONE** at Jakarta, Indonesia, on Thirteenth of August, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Eighty-One.